My Call from NBC

Standard

“I’m a comedian first. I’ve learned how to act. I just draw on life experiences and that’s how I’ve learned. I didn’t take classes or anything. I don’t need no classroom.” ~ Steve Harvey

I was sitting in Pizza Parlor having dinner with my cousin, Pollyana, when my cell rang. I didn’t answer because I didn’t recognize the number so I let voicemail pick-up. If it’s important they’ll leave a message, if not oh well. I heard my little beep go off indicating they left a message.

(Don’t pay attention to the beginning of the next sentence) As I was driving home, I listened to the message. It went like this…..

“Hi Liza, it’s Tracy calling from Steve Harvey, we’re premiering in September on NBC…………..”

(Click on image to hear call)

My options; replay message, call message sender back, keep message, delete message

Of course I opted to call message sender back! I was greeted with the following message, “Hello, you have reached the offices of NBC, if you know your parties extension please dial it now…”

I got a little excited since it was actually the NBC Studio that called, so I listened to the message again to get the number Tracy left to return her call. I keyed in the numbers 1.312.xxx.xxxx and a cheery female voice answered.

Voice: “Hello, Tracy with NBC”

Me: “Hi Tracy, this is Liza, I had a missed call from you.”

Tracy: “Liza, hi! Yes, I am working on The Steve Harvey Show and he’s going to be hosting a new reality show on NBC this Fall. I was wondering if I could ask you a few questions?”

Me: “Sure!”

Tracy: “It says here that you are single and have children, is this correct?”

Me: “Yes.”

Tracy: “Your oldest is a daughter? It says she’s married.”

Me: “Yes.”

Tracy: “Do you know her husband?”

Me: “Yes.”

Tracy: “Do you like him?”

Me: “Yes, of course!”

Tracy: “Oh ok…. it also says you have an older son.”

Me: “Yes.”

Tracy: “Does he have a girlfriend?”

Me: “Um… yes.”

Tracy: “Have you met her yet?”

Me: “Yes I have.”

Tracy: “Do you like her?”

Me: “Um…. yes! What exactly is this show about?”

Tracy: “Steve Harvey will be playing a father-like figure, and he will decide if your child’s partner is good or not, but we’re looking for a single parent who has not met the partner yet or does not like them.”

Me: “Um… well I guess I don’t qualify.”

Tracy: “Well thank you for your time and we’ll keep you in mind. Have a great day!”

Me: “Thanks, you too! Bye.”

Tracy: “Bye”

Leave a comment